Skip to Main Content

You are here:

Contact Us

Please note that the Institutional Review Board does not review research involving animal subjects. Please contact IACUC (the Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee) for information regarding animal research.

We welcome your feedback regarding our services and website. Please contact us by email, anonymous comment submission, or complete our Customer Service Survey, and provide us with the feedback we need to improve our process. Thank you!

Institutional Review Board
Research Administration Building
75 South 2000 East
Salt Lake City, Utah 84112

Tel: 801-581-3655
Fax: 801-587-9138
Email: IRB@hsc.utah.edu

IRB Staff

Which staff member should I contact?

Name Title Email Phone
Militza Martinez  IRB Clerk Militza.Martinez@hsc.utah.edu  801-581-3655
Josi Bitencourt Administrative Assistant Josi.Bitencourt@hsc.utah.edu 801-587-9135
Ann Johnson IRB Interim Director Ann.Johnson@hsc.utah.edu 385-419-0712
Annie Risenmay IRB Operations Manager Annie.Risenmay@hsc.utah.edu 801-587-9137
Sarah Mumford IRB Operations Manager Sarah.Mumford@hsc.utah.edu 801-581-3655
Ammon Pate IRB Operations Manager Ammon.Pate@hsc.utah.edu 801-581-7543
Lisa Rigtrup IRB Operations Manager Lisa.Rigtrup@hsc.utah.edu 801-585-2360
Milana Perepyolkina IRB Administrator Milana.Perepyolkina@hsc.utah.edu 801-581-8236
Lacy Clegg IRB Administrator Lacy.Clegg@hsc.utah.edu  801-581-8220
Melinda Boulter IRB Administrator (Part-Time) Melinda.Boulter@hsc.utah.edu  801-585-6452
Anna Shirley IRB Administrator (Part-Time) Anna.Shirley@hsc.utah.edu  N/A
Gary Henderson IRB Administrator Gary.Henderson@hsc.utah.edu  801-585-6307
Hannah Owen IRB Administrator Hannah.Owen@hsc.utah.edu TBA
Margaret McFarland IRB Administrator Margaret.McFarland@hsc.utah.edu   TBA
Annie Huff IRB Administrator Annie.Huff@hsc.utah.edu  TBA 
April Edwards Panel 1 Coordinator April.Edwards@hsc.utah.edu  801-585-0940
Masha Boguslavsky Panel 2 Coordinator Masha.Boguslavsky@hsc.utah.edu  801-585-5363
Heather Jewett Panel 3 Coordinator Heather.Jewett@hsc.utah.edu 801-581-3210
Shannon Garner-Balandrin Panel 4 Coordinator Shannon.Garner@hsc.utah.edu  801-581-7893
Rachelle Riffle Panel 6 Coordinator Rachelle.Riffle@hsc.utah.edu  801-585-1116

Listserv

Are you a member of our listserv? The IRB sends out all announcements and updates on the IRB listserv. If you would like to be added to this email list:

  • Send an email to sympa@lists.utah.edu.
  • In the "Subject" line, type "Subscribe irbalert <<yourname> >".
  • <<yourname> > should be your first and last name (no space).

Office of Research Integrity

Past or prospective participants or their designated representatives, study teams, and others who wish to ask questions, express concerns, or provide general feedback regarding the Human Research Protection Program to someone independent of the IRB may contact the Research Integrity and Compliance Office by calling 801-581-7170.

Last Updated: 7/20/17