Skip to Main Content

You are here:

Contact Us

Please note that the Institutional Review Board does not review research involving animal subjects. Please contact IACUC (the Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee) for information regarding animal research.

We welcome your feedback regarding our services and website. Please contact us by email, anonymous comment submission, or complete our Customer Service Survey, and provide us with the feedback we need to improve our process. Thank you!

Institutional Review Board
Research Administration Building
75 South 2000 East
Salt Lake City, Utah 84112

Tel: 801-581-3655
Fax: 801-587-9138
Email: IRB@hsc.utah.edu  

IRB Staff

Front Desk Team

Name Title Email Phone
Militza Mosher IRB Clerk Militza.Martinez@hsc.utah.edu 801-581-3655
Josi Bitencourt Administrative Assistant Josi.Bitencourt@utah.edu 801-587-9135

Contact the Front Desk Team for:

  • General Questions about the IRB
  • Help with the ERICA System
  • Human Subjects Training Help (e.g. CITI)
  • IRB Fees

IRB Directors and IRB Operations Managers

Name Title Email Phone
Ann Johnson IRB Director Ann.Johnson@hsc.utah.edu 385-419-0712
Sarah Mumford

IRB Associate Director

Sarah.Mumford@hsc.utah.edu 801-784-8624
Annie Risenmay

IRB Operations Manager

Annie.Risenmay@hsc.utah.edu 801-587-9137
Ammon Pate IRB Operations Manager Ammon.Pate@hsc.utah.edu 801-581-8220
Lisa Rigtrup

IRB Operations Manager

Lisa.Rigtrup@hsc.utah.edu 801-581-8236
Gary Henderson

IRB Operations Manager

Gary.Henderson@hsc.utah.edu  801-585-6307

Directors and Operations Managers can answer questions about:

  • Any Type of Application Reviewed by the IRB
  • CIRB/SIRB Studies
  • Agreements
  • Applicability of Fees, and Fee Appeals
  • Report Forms, Participant Complaints, Unanticipated Problems, Protocol Deviations, Non-Compliance
  • Whether Your Project Needs IRB Approval
  • Guidelines, Regulations, and Policies
  • General Questions about the IRB
  • Help with the ERICA System

IRB Administrators

Name Title Email Phone
 Milana Perepyolkina

 IRB Administrator

 Milana.Perepyolkina@hsc.utah.edu  801-585-6037
Hannah Owen

IRB Administrator

Hannah.Owen@hsc.utah.edu  801-585-0302
Margaret McFarland

IRB Administrator

Margaret.McFarland@hsc.utah.edu  801-587-9134
Annie Huff

IRB Administrator

Annie.Huff@hsc.utah.edu  801-581-7543
Heather Jewett

IRB Administrator

Heather.Jewett@hsc.utah.edu  801-585-6452
Anna Shirley

IRB Administrator
(Part-Time)

Anna.Shirley@hsc.utah.edu  N/A
 Lacy Clegg  IRB Administrator
(Report Forms)
 Lacy.Clegg@hsc.utah.edu   801-585-2360
 Melinda Boulter  IRB Administrator
(Part-Time, Report Forms)
 Melinda.Boulter@hsc.utah.edu  801-587-9136
Lindsey Byrd IRB Administrator (Report Forms) Lindsey.Byrd@hsc.utah.edu  TBD
New Study Administrators can answer questions about: Report Form Administrators can answer questions about:
  • New Study Applications
  • Amendment Applications
  • Whether Your Project Needs IRB Approval
  • IRB Guidelines, Regulations, and Policies
  • General Questions about the IRB
  • Help with the ERICA System
  • Report Forms, Participant Complaints, Unanticipated Problems, Protocol Deviations, Non-Compliance
  • IRB Guidelines, Regulations, and Policies
  • General Questions about the IRB
  • Help with the ERICA System

 

IRB Coordinators

Name Title Email Phone
April Edwards Panel 1 Coordinator  April.Edwards@hsc.utah.edu  801-581-7893
Hannah Baley Panel 2 Coordinator Hannah.Baley@hsc.utah.edu  801-585-5363
Emma Tkachuck  Panel 3 Coordinator

Emma.Tkachuck@hsc.utah.edu 

801-585-0940
TBD Panel 4 Coordinator TBD  801-585-1116
Rachelle Riffle Panel 6 Coordinator Rachelle.Riffle@hsc.utah.edu  801-581-3210

Coordinators can answer questions about:

  • Continuing Review Applications
  • Amendment Applications
  • Board Meeting Outcomes
  • General Questions about the IRB
  • Help with the ERICA System

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Full List of IRB Staff: http://irb.utah.edu/about/contact/contact-full-list.php

FAQWhich staff member should I contact?

Listserv

Are you a member of our listserv? The IRB sends out all announcements and updates on the IRB listserv. If you would like to be added to this email list:

  • Send an email to sympa@lists.utah.edu.
  • In the "Subject" line, type "Subscribe irbalert <<yourname> >".
  • <<yourname> > should be your first and last name (no space).

Office of Research Integrity

Past or prospective participants or their designated representatives, study teams, and others who wish to ask questions, express concerns, or provide general feedback regarding the Human Research Protection Program to someone independent of the IRB may contact the Research Integrity and Compliance Office by calling 801-581-7170.

Last Updated: 11/5/18